Creating a culture of excellence using best practice

Get the latest ALC news on Facebook

CGEIT - Governance of Enterprise IT

Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT (4 days)

* Demonstrate your ability to deliver quality governance.

* Achieve a broader impact on your enterprise and your career.

CGEIT recognizes a wide range of professionals for their knowledge and application of enterprise IT governance principles and practices. As a CGEIT certified professional, you demonstrate that you are capable of bringing IT governance into an organization—that you grasp the complex subject holistically, and therefore, enhance value to the enterprise.


IT systems are continually evolving to ensure competitiveness, enable reach to global markets and handle external pressures such as regulation. By managing, advising and assessing the enterprise’s IT infrastructure and processes, individuals play a role in IT governance and provide significant support to the board of directors and executive management. The Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT® (CGEIT®) program supports increasing business demands and recognizes the wide range of professionals whose knowledge and application of IT governance principles are key to managing the forces of transition.

Achieving the CGEIT credential adds value to professionals who earn the certification and the enterprises they support. CGEIT promotes the advancement of professionals who wish to be recognized for their IT governance-related experience and knowledge. The CGEIT certification program recognizes those who demonstrate a visible commitment to excellence in IT governance practices. With the CGEIT designation comes many professional and personal benefits

  • Worldwide recognition for professional experience
  • Enhanced knowledge and skills
  • Career advancement

CGEITs hold many prominent positions including: manager, director, consultant and C-level executive. The following are examples of common roles and responsibilities held by current CGEITs:

  • Oversee the development and maintenance of the IT strategic plan
  • Manage IT-enabled investment portfolios through their useful asset life cycle
  • Advise on industry accepted practices and frameworks to improve IT governance
  • Develop IT and information systems strategic plans and control frameworks
  • Integrate information security into enterprise IT governance
  • Manage the enterprise architecture, including infrastructure and applications
  • Oversee the development and maintenance of the risk strategy, plan and program

The CGEIT Credential

To earn the CGEIT credential, an individual must:

1. Achieve a passing score on the CGEIT exam. A passing score on the CGEIT exam, without completing the required work experience as outlined below, is only valid for five years. If
the applicant does not meet the CGEIT certification requirements within the five year period, the passing score is voided.

2. Submit an application with verified evidence of five years of work experience. An applicant must provide evidence of management, advisory or oversight experience associated with the governance of the IT-related contribution to an enterprise. Five years of such experience is required and is defined and described specifically by the CGEIT job practice domains and task statements. Work experience must be gained within the 10-year period preceding the application date for certification or within five years from the date of initially passing the exam. Specifically, an applicant must have a minimum of one year of experience relating to the definition, establishment and management of the Framework for the Governance of Enterprise IT in alignment with the mission, vision and values of the enterprise. (CGEIT domain 1) and; Additional broad experience related to any two or more of the remaining domains (CGEIT domains 2 through five 5. For a list and description of the CGEIT domains see below.)

  • Exception: two years as a full-time university instructor teaching IT governance related subjects at an accredited university can be substituted for every one year of experience.
  • It is important to note that individuals may choose to take the CGEIT exam prior to meeting the experience requirements. This practice is acceptable and encouraged, although the CGEIT designation will not be awarded until all requirements are met.

3. Agree to abide by the ISACA Code of Professional Ethics which can be viewed at

4. Agree to comply with the CGEIT Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Policy, which can be viewed at


>> Please refer to the tabs above for Course Fees, Course Content, Exams and other information.
For your convenience you may also see the course in print-friendly one-page view .


Next Available Dates

No public courses currently scheduled. Please contact ALC.
Need More Information?
 Call us on 6227 2883

Request a callback!

Name *:
Organisation *:
Phone *:
City :

Enquire Now!

Name *:
Organisation *:
Email *:
City *:

Enquiry *: